PDA

View Full Version : Branch Transfer/Becoming a Marine Officer

USNStudent
11-12-12, 05:44 PM
Thank you all for taking the time to read my post. After graduating from college, I made a series of poor decisions, which eventually led me into medical school. I am currently a student at the Uniformed Services University, the nation's military medical school, and was commissioned about six months ago as an O-1 in the Navy, so I am technically on active duty.

The problem is, I'd like to get out. Don't get me wrong - I love being in the military, the school is incredible and I haven't a single negative thing to say about it, and I am extremely, extremely fortunate to be here. However, I'm losing interest and am coming to the realization that I really don't want to be a doctor. It's med school, so obviously it's difficult, but I'm not the type to back away from a challenge. I just don't think three more years of sitting on my butt and studying is for me. I'd much prefer to be out in the real military, getting my hands dirty.

Anyway, what I'd really like to do is become a Marine officer. And I think I have what it takes - I was a DI college athlete and max out the PT tests, am an Eagle Scout, have a B.S. and an M.S., and am extremely hard worker and have never quit on anything (except for potentially med school). And it's been a goal of mine since high school, although between athletics and the whole getting into med school thing, I sort of lost sight of it.