PDA

View Full Version : Being more competitive for the Officer Selection Board; OCC dates

DarkRed
10-30-12, 06:43 PM
Hi all,

I'm a fourth year undergraduate student at UCSD interested in becoming a Marine. I originally wanted to enlist, but after speaking with an OSO, I realize applying for an officer position may be a better route.

With that decision made, I am going to put forth all my time and energy into being the best candidate I can be. With recent budget cuts, downsizing, etc. this is going to be a tough race and I am going to give it my all. That means making myself as competitive and appealing as possible in the upcoming weeks and months.

Besides doing crunches, pull-ups, and running my butt off for all of the foreseeable future to up my PFT score, as well as trying to raise my GPA, what else can I do? What sorts of things goes into the "package" that the Officer Selection Board sees?

Also, I read elsewhere on these forums that there are no OCC slots until 2014 (except for those in reserves), though my OSO said I (if selected) could go to OCC as early as October (of this year) or even June. Can I get a confirmation of either?

Additionally, I know those who take the PLC path are given a choice after graduation whether they'd like to commission or not. PLC is not an option for me as I am a senior already. Does OCC offer the same choice, or are they assumed to automatically commission as an officer?

Thanks in advance for your insight.

josephd
10-30-12, 06:52 PM
Has your OSO made you aware that OCC has reserve only seats available, no active duty?