PDA

View Full Version : Wife of Poolee with a lot of questions about the road ahead

whollifield1
10-10-12, 08:43 PM
Hello everyone. My husband and I are newlyweds with 6 years of dating under our belts. He enlisted into the Marines and his ship validation date is set for February 2013. He wants to go into Recon. The majority of my questions are centered around a basic timeline of events. I understand that he will be at Boot camp for 13 weeks, then will go to SOI (please correct me if any of my information is wrong. I'm completely new to this.) If he is interested in going into Recon what happens next? When is BRC training? (does BRC training take place at Pendleton?) What happens after BRC training? Am I allowed to visit him at SOI or BRC?

-Basically I want to know how long it will take for him to go from boot camp to his end goal of (I think it's called) Reconnaissance Man.
-Will I be able to move with him when he gets stationed somewhere?

Thanks in advance for all advice given.

m14ed
10-11-12, 02:37 PM
Let me please start the ball rolling by welcoming you to Leatherneck forums.
There a lot of IF's in your future, perhaps you haven't been told.

First , your husband has to complete boot camp to earn his EGA (eagle,globe,and anchor),
and title of United States Marine. When he graduates with his platoon, and title,,,,in all probibility, he will be given boot leave between graduation and SOI (School of Infantry)

NOW the tricky part.

Please read no further if you have a "thin skin" or are easily upset.

In all probibility, you husband will fail the "ReconSchool" and be re-assigned MOS's.
Dependent apon that MOS, determines where he gets stationed next.

Everything you ask with the "exception" of your husband wanting to enter the MarineCorps and earn the title, is all shakey when you're looking for Definent answers , dates, and time-tables.

Good luck with you and your family..

Semper Fidelis to your husband ,When he earnes his EGA, and Title of Marine.