PDA

View Full Version : Anyone lose family and friends like this?

Bootsondeck
09-26-12, 12:34 PM
Hi, my names Andres, I'm 22 and I have been thinking of joining the Marines since I graduated high school.

The reason I haven't joined is a big one in my opinion. My family will disown me. And I will lose all my friends. The reason for this is because of their religious beliefs. They remain neutral when it comes to war and have taught me since a young age that the military is forbidden for me to join. And that god will kill me for doing so. However I feel like I was meant for it, especially the Marine Corps.

I saw in some of the documentaries that you have to call a next of kin when you arrive at training, but I would have no family to call. I would also lose all my friends because they share the same faith as my family.

I know that this would be a huge sacrifice to join the marines, but I feel like I will only be myself, and do what i was born to do by enlisting.

If anyone has any advice on how to deal with this it would be greatly appreciate.
(Ps, a recruiter coming to my house would mean me being homeless and danger to his safety)
(Pss I wanna be an EOD tech, but I know you can't just enlist as one, and advice on a path to EOD would be great)
Thank you.

gkmoz
09-26-12, 12:41 PM
Curious as to what Religion or faith that would be ? and some one is going to ask you to fill out your profile better ? :)

Bootsondeck
09-26-12, 12:44 PM
Jehovah's Witness. I was born and raised one, but being a Marine is what I feel I was meant to do. I'll work on my profile lol.

thewookie
09-26-12, 12:45 PM
Andres, as stated previously you must fill out your profile according to the site rules before someone will help you.

This thread is closed until you do -- PM a squad leader, Mod, or Admin to re-open this once you have done that.

Rocky C
09-26-12, 03:00 PM
Profile completed.
Thread re-opened.

Bootsondeck
09-26-12, 03:02 PM
Thank you Rocky.

Rocky C
09-26-12, 03:17 PM