PDA

View Full Version : Go Reserve Officer to A.D. or Enlist to ECP?

Chapman1988
07-21-12, 04:40 PM
Good Afternoon,

I apologize to everyone if this is a repeat, I have searched this forum for "Requesting Active Duty" "Reserve Officer" and found no post similar to my own.

I appreciate any and all advice and thank you for your time.

Background:

I graduated from college 2 years ago, entered into the OCC Officer Application for OCS and just recently, after a long medical process (had mild asthma as a kid, took forever to get my waiver through), ran my last board PFT with a 296. While I am chasing a ground contract my recruiter had me take the ASTB and I scored high enough to go pilot, my SAT scores are above average for OCS applicants, so is my G.P.A. and I scored a 300 on the CFT. Unfortunately I have a marijuana waiver from an incident when I was 17. I filled the paperwork out for the waiver in November of 2011, I was under the assumption that it was sent in. I just received a phone call from my Lt. saying that they forgot to send in my waiver to Regional which makes my application incomplete and therefore I missed the deadline for the October OCS class. While I was angry to begin with, looking back I should have been more proactive in making sure the waiver had been sent in.

That being said I have the following options.

Options:

1.) Re-apply for January 2013 OCS. Unfortunately the board is only accepting Reserve applications i.e. no Active-Duty contracts.

2.) Wait until June of 2013 to try again to go ground active-duty through OCC (which my Ssgt. has warned me they are clamping down on significantly in the coming year and pursuing more those in the PLC program.)

3.) Enlist and work towards completing my ECP once I make Corporal.

Goals: