PDA

View Full Version : Some questions about USNA or NROTC Marine option

DelawareDude
03-03-11, 03:03 PM
Hello Marines, this is my first post and I was wondering if I can get some questions answered about either the Naval Academy in Annapolis or the NROTC Marine option.

I am currently a sophomore in high school and I've got a 4.0 gpa, and I am highly involved in my school's athletics. I am on the Lacrosse team, and I'm hoping to be team captain by next year. I also am involved in baseball and I was on the wrestling team last year. I am in the top percentage of my class as well. I also am an Eagle Scout and I volunteer with as much as I can at a local gym here in Dover. I'm also involved with my church too and help out as much as I can.

I was looking at some of the forums and I am just wondering if anyone could help me outi in regards to the Naval Academy. How competitive is it to get in and would I have a good chance, or do they want more on my record than just volunteering and good grades? I know I need a congressional appointment from my congressman, but do I also need anything else? I checked out the Academy's site, and it was helpful. But I'm just wondering if anyone here knows anything firsthand about it or if anyone has attended Annapolis?

Also, is it better to go to the Academy or NROTC, or are they both kind of the same? Thanks.

-Ethan-

DelawareDude
03-03-11, 03:18 PM
Oh I forgot, is it too early to start applying to the Academy if I'm still a sophomore?

Lisa 23
03-03-11, 03:29 PM
Ethan, try doing a search on the site. These topics have been covered before.

USNAviator
03-03-11, 03:32 PM
Oh I forgot, is it too early to start applying to the Academy if I'm still a sophomore?

You should apply for admission between April of your junior year in high school and January of your senior year in high school. The earlier you apply the better.

DelawareDude
03-03-11, 03:46 PM
Thanks so far for the help so far everyone. I appreciate it.

Tennessee Top