PDA

View Full Version : JAG officer and OCS questions

Animal89
02-05-11, 07:16 PM
Hello,
This is my first post, and I was hoping to get a little information on the judge advocates program and OCS. I am currently up for selection for OCS, and I was told some bad news today, that I would not be able to qualify for any type of infantry/ ground combat position due to my colorblindness. So instead of quitting, ive decided to take another route, and persue my future in law. I am currently a criminal justice student, and plan on going to law school in the near future. I was told that the judge advocate/ law field in the Marine Corps was an option, and I immediately became interested. My question is if there is anybody who can give me any type of advise about becoming a JAG officer in the Marine Corps, such as deployment, job descriptions, details and pretty much what is involved. I spoke to my selection officer, and he gave me some good advise, but I also wanted to get personal opinions from others. Any feedback is greatly appreciated, thank you.

Phantom Blooper
02-05-11, 07:24 PM
http://www.leatherneck.com/forums/member.php?u=22209

PM this Captain he is a JAG officer and maybe albe to answer your questions.

http://www.leatherneck.com/forums/member.php?u=43579

Also this Marine was an Air Force JAG Captain he maybe able to give some insight.

03Mike
02-05-11, 07:25 PM
A PLC-Law contract is different from a PLC-Ground or PLC-Aviation contract. The primary difference is that you may be commissioned after college graduation and attend law school prior to going to TBS (The Basic School). We had a couple of first lieutenants in our TBS class who were lawyers.

As a JAG officer you go through the same TBS as every other Marine Officer - so you'll learn the basics of being an infantry platoon leader.