Fleet?
Create Post
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Fleet?

Marine Friend Free Member
    Credits
    Savings

Question Fleet?

Okay, so I am totally new to the Marine life.. I know pretty much everything about the Army(served) and the Navy (ex husband).. So, db was trying to explain to me that when he gets back from deployment and gets his new orders he'll be going to fleet.. He's tried to explain this to me a couple of times and I just don't understand what the heck it means.. Can someone explain this to me?

thanks soo much

Credits
    Savings
    Images
    It means You'll be the Wife of a Sea Going Bellhop(LMAO) S/F

Credits
    Savings
    you serious? well he's an 0331.. so i dont know if that would make a difference or not.. im guessing deployments will happen quite a bit?

Credits
    Savings
    Images
    I Was an 0311 Loved being a Fleet Marine,You'll be Fine Lady...and So will Your Marine GodBless You Both stay Semper~Fidelis 4Ever GoodLuck...

Credits
    Savings
    okay thanks soo much fist.. ya he hates being in FAST he can't wait to get to Fleet soo bad its crazy.. thats all he pretty much talks about lol.. thanks you too godbless

Last edited by thedrifter; 03-18-10 at 08:34 AM.

Credits
    Savings
    Images
    Going to the "Fleet" simply means he will be assigned to a regular infantry unit within the the Fleet Marine Force structure. Shortened to just "Fleet." It's the main part of the Marine Corps.

Phantom Blooper
    Guest Free Member
    The "fleet" is slang for either Fleet Marine Force (Pacific/Atlantic) depending on what side of the globe you are on....also known as the FMF.

This tour or duty can last from months to years depending on rank,MOS,needs of the Marine Corps and various other things associated with military life.

Since he is an 0331 he will more than likely for the remainder of his hitch be deployed somewhere.....whether it be in harms way or on a naval vessel for six months.