Military Police Field
Create Post
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Marine Friend Free Member
    Credits
    Savings

Military Police Field

Hello Marines,

My name is Garrett, I've decided to make the commiment to become a Marine. I'm in my first semester of college and I already know it's going to be a drag. I need something that's going to push me and challenge me so why not become one of The Few. I don't bull**** around, so when I want something I fight my hardest to get it. With that said, I understand I should be more worried about MCRD than a MOS field right now but by god I am worried about MCRD haha, but I am interested in a career in Law Enforcement. All around me (friends, family) are in that field so why not me.

I've already looked at the requierments for each field but would like a more personal experience for those Marines that are in these specific fields.

Military Police
    Special Reaction Team
    K-9

The question I have is, can you Marines give me insight on personal experiences in these fields? How does one get into either a SRT unit, or K-9 unit? Also, if I am put into Corrections, could I pull a lat move to MP when my 4 years are up?

Thankyou for your time Marines

Well let me just say that there's about a 75% chance your first assignment will be with a field unit, Basically an infantryman with a HMMWV.

If you do manage to go to a PMO the SRT unit of that station will occasionally hold indocs. Just volunteer and if you last, your in.

K-9 if offered to you during MP school where you and whom ever else wants to go K-9 will go on a board and they will decide who will be attending K-9 school. Once your in the fleet its much much harder to become K-9 so if you feel you wanna go that route then do it in MP school.

You can always Lat move as long as you meet whatever requirements there are.

I'm currently an MP on Camp Pendleton so if you have any other questions please feel free to ask

Credits
    Savings