Just got back from vacation!! Any questions?
Create Post
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Credits
    Savings

Just got back from vacation!! Any questions?

Hey poolee's, I just made it back home from Parris Island. It was the toughest thing I've ever done but not so much because of the physical training, but the mental conditioning and the being away from the family and cut off from the world.

If you have any questions at all, feel free to ask or message me. Good luck to you!

Congratulations Marine. I have a question, what kind of shape were you in when you left and now when you graduated? And what do you recommend being at before shipping out to boot?

Credits
    Savings
    Fortunately, I've always been in good shape because of my athletics and my job (landscaping). I'm older though at 25, but I was still in better shape than many of the my fellow Marines I graduated with.

Before I shipped, I could do 18 pullups, 140 crunches and ran the 1 1/2 mile in 9:15 seconds.

When I left, my pullups actually DROPPED to 17 because ???? who knows. I worked out every 3rd day up there on my free time and did every single PT and they drorpped. I still can't figure it out.

My crunches went up to 170 and my 3 mile run time was 19:50.

Before you go, you need to be able to do the minimum or you'll get held back in the physicaly conditioning platoon (or pork chop platoon). And that will postpone graduation. We also had a kid that couldn't do 3 pull ups on the final PFT. He almost got dropped and cost us the PFT trophy (we CRUSHED the other platoons on our avg. score but boogered because this kid failed and you can't have any failures)

So MAKE SURE YOU CAN DO THE MINIMUM before you go. Hell, its the Marine Corps...do MORE than the minimum.