Student athletes show Marines they measure up
Create Post

Cool Student athletes show Marines they measure up

Student athletes show Marines they measure up
    Submitted by: Marine Corps Recruiting Command
    Story Identification Number: 200352114937
    Story by Sgt. Jimmie Perkins

MARINE CORPS RECRUIT DEPOT, SAN DIEGO, Calif.(May 18, 2003) -- When it comes to physical fitness, Marines are known for setting high standards of performance and dedication. So when 174 male and female high school students arrived here for the 2003 National High School Physical Fitness Championships, they were put to the test by some of the most motivational fitness instructors on the planet, United States Marines.

"I think it is a great thing for the youth of America to be so actively involved in physical fitness," said Staff Sgt. Allen Young, logistics chief for 2nd Recruit Training Battalion. " Over the last four or five years, particularly when I was a drill instructor for a couple years, I trained recruits. Seeing the shape some were in when they came to us concerned me about what kids today were doing to stay fit. Seeing this here is heartening. The young kids out here, over the last couple of days, have been amazing at the level they are competing and the effort they put into it. It makes me proud to participate in something like this."

The national championships are sponsored by the United States Marines Youth Foundation and hosted by Marine Corps Recruit Depot, San Diego, Calif. The competition brought together top high school athletes from 12 schools across the country, united in competition and the belief that physical fitness is the key to a bright future.

"Fitness has always been a problem in this country," said Rick Ecker, Executive Director of the United States Marine Youth Foundation. "This program addresses healthy lifestyle choices for our young people in a way that provides a no-cost program to schools that works."