What was your boot platoon like?
Create Post

What was your boot platoon like?

Out of your platoon in TW1, what was the percentage or how many completely out of shape recruits were with you?

Credits
    Savings
    Images
    All of us,,,,,,,,,,More adapted than others.

I think out of 63 about 2 or 3 couldn't pass the IST......and got dropped to the PCP. and the IST is not that hard, and average 18-20 year old should have no problems, if you do, your recruiter let you down..

I believe the reason I made it through PI without to much difficulty was because I was in "shock" from the moment that Sgt. got on the bus 'til I graduated. I was convinced that the slightest infraction would cause a DI to either kill my young,dumb azz or at the very least maim me! So I tried to pay attention and follow orders.We didn't have a "good guy" DI ! All of them acted meaner than a constipated rattlesnake! But.................they were trainin' us for war!! The meanest of all was my Senior DI.I am sure this fine Marine Staff Sgt helped a lot of us survive! Took me a long time to realise that! By the time I figured it out,He was KIA! Now I go to the Wall as often as possible to visit old friends and to say a prayer of thanks to this Man.

Credits
    Savings
    Images
    Amen, Brother.

Seemed like we dropped 5 out of close to 70ish. Hard to remember, those days went by as blurs.

If you can believe it we dropped a handful on the PFT late in training as well.

Credits
    Savings
    We dropped several. We were all out of shape. Even those of us who were runners and involved in athletics. There were 2 fat bodies that stand out. 1 disappeared, I don't know how the other one hung on.

We dropped a few at IST. The most disgusting was 2 drops at final PFT. They coudln't do 3 pull ups and we had a 33 year old doing 15.

Quote Originally Posted by Robert Browell View Post