US Marine Corps/why/when
Create Post
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

US Marine Corps/why/when

Sgthermogenesm:
    Why did you join the Marine corps???????

Old topic but the Navy recruiter told me to come back after I graduated, so I walked next door and the Marine recruiter was more than willing to take me if my parents signed the papers.

This was in 1968 during the Vietnam conflict and the Marines were taking all kinds of bodies back then, even a lot of draftees.

I had run away from home and was in Eureka, Ca. (Way up north) and now I had to get home to Colorado. The parents signed and in a few days I was on my way back to Eureka then San Francisco to go through AFEES (Armed Forces Entrance Examination Center, now MEPS) and finally San Diego courtesy of the government. The rest is history, that was the best choice I ever made in my life and I have never regretted it...

Credits
    Savings
    Images
    Cause I was looking for a few good men myself! Dammit! I LOVE when I get to use that!

I joined the Corps because I didn't know there were other branches of service to choose from. LOL!

Marine Free Member darkgreen0311's Avatar
    Credits
    Savings
    Images

Dark Green 0311

I wanted to be a Marine ever since i was ten years old. I turned down a brand new car and college to join the Marines. It was something i had to do for myself and i knew they were the best and and i wanted to see if i had what it took to be a Marine. I also have no regrets i'd do it all over again and that was in 1982.

SEMPER FI 4 LIFE
    YOURS IS NOT TO QUESTION WHY BUT TO DO OR DIE!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Marine84
    Cause I was looking for a few good men myself! Dammit! I LOVE when I get to use that!

I joined the Corps because I didn't know there were other branches of service to choose from. LOL!
    Thanks Kim made me spit my juice all over the montor and keyboard

Ellie

My Dad is a 30 year Navy Master Chief, so the Army was out