Fight Clubs: Military veterans take fighting skills to the next level

By Leo Shane III, Stars and Stripes,
Scene, Sunday, June 24, 2007

Brian Foster remembers watching his first mixed martial arts fight while still in the service and wondering how much punishment he could take.

A few phone calls and sparring sessions later, he stepped into the ring for his first match.

“I was in the Marines, and I had been through Army Ranger school, but I really wanted to know if I could get in the ring and beat those guys,” he said. “It turns out I could.”

He took less than five minutes to knock out his opponent.

Now he’s boxing and choking out martial arts experts for a living in the International Fight League. And you can’t beat him.

“This isn’t the weekend warrior stuff any more that I did in the military or while I was a tattoo artist,” Foster said. “This is the real deal. It’s not flag football. This is the NFL.”
Professional pounding

The IFL, founded in 2006, wraps up its second season of fighting this fall. The league was developed as a team- based alternative to the already-established Ultimate Fighting Championship league and its related mixed martial arts contests, and has drawn modest crowds in its first two years of operations.

Mixed martial arts itself has become more mainstream over the last few years, evolving from the no-holds-barred matches of the 1990s to an officially sanctioned fighting style.

UFC matches have become a major pay-per-view draw, generating $223 million in pay-per-view sales in 2006, more than either boxing or wrestling for the year. A reality show to find their next great fighters airs on cable stateside and on American Forces Network overseas.

The IFL airs its competitions on the new MyNetworkTV, owned by the FOX network. Overseas troops will begin seeing more of the league’s fighters in coming months, as part of upcoming USO tours to military bases worldwide.