Marines Aren't Soldiers Are They?
Create Post
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
    Registered User Free Member docsavage's Avatar
    Credits
    Savings

Marines Aren't Soldiers Are They?

although the media seems to think so.

I am not the republican loving lifer that most of the people that visit this site seem to be, but I am a USMC Vietnam Veteran (26th Marines - Khe Sahn Combat Base) and there is one thing that still boils my marine corps blood. And that is when the media suggests that marines and soldiers are one in the same.

Everytime I hear this I cringe. For example in the recent Newsweek review of Flags of the Father, the word marine was not even used. The reviewer noted it was the story of the soldiers that raised the flag at Iwo Jima. I wrote a letter to the editor, but it was not published and I did not hear from the piece's writer.

So what do you all think? I think that any marine worth his/her salt should be insulted when the term soldier is used synonomously in place of marine. Of course, what do I know, I am a liberal

Credits
    Savings

Exclamation In case you were wondering

Quote Originally Posted by docsavage
    although the media seems to think so.

I am not the republican loving lifer that most of the people that visit this site seem to be, but I am a USMC Vietnam Veteran (26th Marines - Khe Sahn Combat Base) and there is one thing that still boils my marine corps blood. And that is when the media suggests that marines and soldiers are one in the same.

Everytime I hear this I cringe. For example in the recent Newsweek review of Flags of the Father, the word marine was not even used. The reviewer noted it was the story of the soldiers that raised the flag at Iwo Jima. I wrote a letter to the editor, but it was not published and I did not hear from the piece's writer.