Drill Instructors Never Die!
Create Post

Drill Instructors Never Die!

THIS IS STORY I FOUND AND THOUGHT I WOULD LET EVERYONE READ IT

I enlisted in the Marine Corps April 23, 1965 under the 120 day delay program while in the senior year at Stevens High School, Claremont, New Hampshire. Shortly after graduation I shipped out for P.I. My father was a retired Marine M/SGT and I had been a service 'brat' so I knew what I was in line for. There were no surprizes at Boot Camp.

Day #2 at P.I. I joined Platoon 339 and met the one person who would have the most lasting impression upon my life, my Senior Drill Instructor, S/Sgt Ed Ricker, from Charlestown, New Hampshire (the next town down from Claremont)

I needn't go into the details of Boot Camp at Parris Island during the summer of 1965. Vietnam was becoming a household word and everything was geared for eventually seeing service there. The first half of "FULL METAL JACKET" brought it all back so clearly.

I graduated from P.I. as a P.F.C. with orders for Marine Barracks, Kenitra, Morocco, 1st Guard Company, Sidi Yahia......armpit of the world. Eventually I would see service in Vietnam and end up at Camp Lejeune twice, leaving the Marine Corps in 1969 with two Purple Hearts, 5 rows of ribbons and an Honorable Discharge. Every now and then I'd join in with other former Marines telling 'war stories' and everyone would always remember the name of their Senior Drill Instructor.

In 1983, taking advantage of my remaining GI Bill, earning my degree in History (18th Century Studies) I had the occassion to be the Program Manager at The Fort at #4, a recreation of the 1740's fortified village, a living history museum, simply known as Number Four (Township No.4) which would later be known as Charlestown.