Age Waiver Possibility
Create Post

Age Waiver Possibility

Hey Everyone,

I am a high school teacher with a BA in multiple majors and will be 29 in January. However, I am currently working on an orthopedic issue in which I won't be in full form for the next several months which requires postural realignment.

Coming from a long line of Americans (colonial Dutch on one side and Irish on the other), my family has served and fought going back to the War of 1812 as records show. My grand uncle was an Irish immigrant captured by the Confederates and sent to Andersonville, my great grandfather fought with the Fighting 69th in the trenches of WWI, I had a great-great uncle who got commissioned as a Navy Officer at age 31 and scouted beaches in the Pacific as a Frogman who then worked as an engineer for NASA during the Apollo missions, my great uncle was an Army medic at Pearl Harbor who was then killed at the Battle of Saipan in 1944, both of grandfathers were in the Korean War (2nd ID at Heartbreak Ridge and 7th ID at Chosin). Lastly, my father is a veteran and served FDNY at WTC.

With an extensive family background, education, work experience, collegiate athletic experience, and an administration adamant on expanding the size, mobility, and lethality of the US military:

1.What do you think my chances are of getting an age waiver?
    2. What's the oldest waiver you've seen approved (non-prior service)
    3. What were the circumstances of the age-waiver granted to the Marine?

Thanks, much appreciated.

Similar Threads:
    Last edited by HistoryMonk; 10-27-18 at 10:15 AM. Reason: Forgot a family member

Age waivers are possible, and you won't know until you speak with either a recruiter or OSO. If all else fails, don't write off another branch.

May I ask what you want to do/get out of the military?

Mike