Running Speed Keeping Me From OCS...Should I Enlist Instead?
Create Post
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Running Speed Keeping Me From OCS...Should I Enlist Instead?

To give an overview of my situation, I'll be graduating college in a couple of days and have been working with an OSO to attend OCC in September of this year (no contract yet). However, I'm currently in the process of getting a medical waiver for some mysterious health issues I used to have.

Although I have been preparing since June of last year, I am still not in good enough physical shape (can't run 3 miles in under 30 minutes). I have no idea what to do to improve this that I haven't already tried, I'm PTing 5 to 6 days out of the week. Stranger even, otherwise I'm in good shape, have good endurance, and did well at Mini OCS recently.

Prior to this, while in college I was working toward enlisting after I graduated, as I didn't think I could yet succeed in the extremely running intensive environment of OCS. However the enlisted recruiter encouraged me to pursue the officer path and after Marines from the officer recruiting station contacted me, I decided this was the path I wanted to pursue.

I'm now at a cross roads as I don't expect I can cut enough off of my run time before September to do well at OCS. Should I keep working and try for the training class in the summer, or would it be wiser to enlist and consider the officer path further down the road?

I realize the decision will ultimately be one I have to make, but any advice from Marines would be greatly appreciated. At the end of the day, I just want to earn the title of Marine. Thank you for reading my lengthy post.

TLDR: Slow running speeding keeping me from being ready for OCS; but in good shape otherwise. Considering enlisting.

Similar Threads:

Credits
    Savings
    Images