How best to prepare for Recruit Training?
Closed Thread
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

How best to prepare for Recruit Training?

I am 15, I go best high school in my state, have pretty good grades (math is a struggle but I've never had lower than a high C). I have played soccer nearly my whole life, I'm a freshman this year and I made the JV team as 1 of 2 goalies. I also play club soccer in the Spring. Typically I have 3 practices a week during the Fall, 2-3 during the Spring (plus games for both seasons). There is also a period during Spring in which pre-tryout (HS) and club soccer overlap, during which I have 3 club practices and 2 days of lifting. Also, during the Summer, I have 3 days of pre-tryout practices and 2 days lifting a week. Basically, I am very busy year round and normally average about 7 hours of sleep a night max (on school days). I know I still have time until I sign up and head to Recruit Training but, I would like to know any advice you all have about being prepared physically and mentally. I have researched on the internet but there is nothing as good as getting it straight from someones who's gone through it. I can currently do 2 miles in 16:30 and haven't really tried for farther (it was a high school soccer requirement this year). I know I am lacking in push ups and I can't do a pull up. I know the basics of keep your head clean, do well in school, keep your grades up, and get physically fit. I am hoping that someone could give me workout routine to fallow and something I can do to prepare mentally. I know the mental aspect is harder to train for but, I feel like there has to be something I can to so I am (more so) ready to be broken down and built back up as a marine. Also, how do I approach telling my parents? I think generally my dad will be okay with it but I think my mom will have a really hard time with it. The last thing she wants her children doing is anything where they train you how to think in one way and one way only. Obviously joi