What are my chances to get an approved medical waiver?
Create Post
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

What are my chances to get an approved medical waiver?

Hi, everyone. Just a bit of background, I am 23 years old, 5'10" and 165lbs. I run 2-3 half marathons every year, lift weights 5-6 times per week, do ruck marches 1-2 times per week, and have scored a 296 on the PFT. I have a bachelor's degree in Accounting from a well respected business school, CPA license, and hold a position on the board of advisors for a not-for-profit. All of that being said, when I was 16 years old I broke my left clavicle and had it fixed with a plate and nine screws. I have never had an issue with my shoulder, even when lifting heavy on shoulder days (military press over 100lbs), or hiking with 60+ pounds on my back. With all of these into consideration, will I actually have a shot at getting an approved medical waiver with the Corps? I am 100% set on a military career, and am willing to do whatever it takes to earn a commission or enlist as a Marine, whichever I am able to do. Please let me know what thoughts you all have, I'm really looking for some honest, genuine advice. Thanks everyone.

Similar Threads:

Get with your local Marine Officer Selection Officer (OSO) ... you should have no problem.

Thanks for the quick response. I've been working closely with the SSgt in my OSO's office, and he seems hopeful, but we're still waiting to hear from MEPS as to whether I can go in for the physical. I'm assuming I'll fail the physical, and start the waiver process. Does that sound correct?

You may not fail the physical, but if you do, they can request a waiver. Good luck!

Thank you very much, I'll be sure to keep posting through the process!

And if anyone has any insight or a similar experience, I would love to hear about it.