MOS Selection, Family Life, & OCS
Create Post

MOS Selection, Family Life, & OCS

Hi all,

I'm currently a college student getting ready to sign up to head to OCS in the fall of 2018 (ideally).

First, I have some questions. I'm needing some help choosing an MOS. I have no problem being in the field and seeing combat, but I don't necessarily want to go looking for it. I'm not a full-time desk worker, whether that be in civilian life or my potential military life. I enjoy getting out in the field, which is why my current civilian career is in construction project management; you get the best of both worlds. I would like to come out of the Marines with skills that pertain to the civilian world. Now, don't get me wrong; I'm not above desk work, or any work for that matter. I have no problem having to work my way up ladders, I actually like it. However, my end goal would be a career that gets me some trigger time but will also give me opportunities to learn a lot. I have friends that are on all different spectrums of the Corps, from AAV to Infantry, all the way to flight crew members on an Osprey.

So far I've looked heavily into a few things: Combat Engineering, AAV, Flight Crews (gunner, etc.), and HUMINT. HUMINT seems the most interesting to me. It seems to be a healthy balance between interacting with locals and their culture and lugging an M4 around "just in case". What can you tell me about either of those specialties? I will be married before I leave for OCS, and will likely have a child at some point during my service; so, that gives me a family to think about that will depend on me coming home. That is a major reason that infantry is not for me. Please do not misunderstand my specific desires as a weakness; I assure you that isn't the case.