Actually, I'm looking to out a fake...
Create Post
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Actually, I'm looking to out a fake...

... so if I'm in the wrong forum, my apologies to the mods. Please steer me to the right place as needed.

Preliminaries: I am not a Marine. My military service was in submarines 1981-1985. But as an Academy grad I was certainly indoctrinated into the history of the Corps and respect the institution as much as anyone.

Here's my issue:

I was solicited for an investment advisory service by a guy who calls himself "the Mad Hedge Fund Trader". I was mildly interested, especially since he seems to have quite an extensive breadth of experience. But after a few minutes reviewing his biography and many of his blog posts, I began to have my doubts.

Here is the bio statement he made that caused my BS-meter to peg on HIGH:

"
    With the invasion of Kuwait by Iraq, Thomas was drafted by the US Marine Corp to serve as a pilot."

Yeah, I know: huh? Drafted? In 1990-91? And as a pilot?

And that's not all. One of his speaker bios says:

"
    In Operation Desert Storm he flew special ops as a combat pilot for the US Marine Corps."

It goes on and gets dumber and more infuriating, such as a Veteran's Day post in which he speaks of "putting on my faded Marine fatigues".

Fatigues.

Anyhow this guy pulls a lot of money from subscribers and attendees to his events and has managed to create a persona for himself on CNBC and other outlets, and it makes me furious.

Is there a way to prove/disprove any of the following without a FOIA request:
    commissioning
    graduation from TBS
    qualification as a USMC C-130 Pilot
    award of the SASM