Denied Criminal Waiver
Create Post

Denied Criminal Waiver

I've done some digging around, and can't seem to find any useful advice on what to do after being denied a criminal waiver. Most of the "denied waiver" posts seem to be concerned with medical.

I've been speaking with my recruiters for several months now. Prior to that, I was attempting to join the AF reserve, but thought better of it. They were willing to allow me to enlist, but denied me access to nearly all jobs.

In the 7th grade, I gave one friend half of a hydrochodon pill, and he gave me 5$. I was caught for this and sent to juvenile court, but due to the lightness of the case was given differed prosecution and the only punishment I received was 6 months probation. However, I was misinformed of all of this by my school principle, who told me I had been "charged with a felony for distribution of a controlled substance" (likely to scare 13 year old me straight). After finding out the truth of my conviction, I didn't think this seemed like a valid reason to deny me access to most jobs, and I was being seriously turned off by the general lack of physical motivation with the Air Force, so I decided marines.

I've submitted loads of paperwork explaining the details of the case, been to MEPS, passed physical, 97 on my Asvab, and was told to wait for the waiver to go through. I just received word that my waiver was denied based on the initial info they received that the Air Force transferred over, that I had admitted to being charged with a felony drug crime. None of the last several months of information showing that I was misinformed in this assumption was ever looked at, as the decision had already been made and delays meant that it was not received by my recruiter until now.