Im 26, want to join, should I be worried about my age?
Create Post
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Im 26, want to join, should I be worried about my age?

Hello everyone, a quick backstory about me, I graduated HS and worked a few jobs and have not done much with my life, here I am at 26 years old.

I went to see a Marine recruiter and took the ASVAB and physical at MEPs, all is well and I can ship out in a few months, all I have to do is swear in.

Now I am willing to admit that I am nervous about all of this, its pretty nerve racking to say the least, I fully understand what I am getting into.

My question is this, is age a big deal? I know most recruits join out of HS and many are 18-20 years old, here I am at 26, even one of the recruiters at the station was 26! It made me feel kinda bad, almost like "man what have I been doing this whole time..."

Why do I want to join? I am honest with myself and while I am a hard worker, I feel that I lack discipline, I would love to travel to different places, I would love to learn a job in the Marine Corps, I want to be pushed to my limit and I would love to become a Marine, to earn that title.

I also just gravitated more toward the Marines more than any branch, I admire they way they present themselves compared to the other branches I talked to.

So am I overthinking all of this? I am 26, in good shape and have the opportunity to join, no waivers or anything needed, nothing is holding me back, just my mind, I guess that nervous energy is getting to me.

Similar Threads:

Guest Free Member
    Credits
    Savings
    Images
    Your overthinking it.

Yes you will have to answer to Marines that are a lot younger then you but just go with the flow.

After you swear in I will change your status on the forum to " Poolee/DEP "

Keep your nose clean and stay out of trouble.

The most important thing on your mind right now is preparing yourself for Boot Camp and Earning the Eagle, Globe and Anchor.