USAF>USMC Transferable Awards
Create Post
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

USAF>USMC Transferable Awards

Ladies and Gentlemen, **** MARINES ****

I am new to the Marine Corps. I just transferred over from the Air Force a few short months ago. I am currently in aircrew school. I am trying to get some of my ribbons transferred over, and I understand that most of them won’t transfer, but there are a few that will. I would like some input from someone who is really familiar with awards, the orders that go with them. While I was deployed to Afghanistan, I was awarded an Air Force Combat Action Medal (for an IED strike to my vehicle), and I was also awarded an Army Achievement Medal. These two awards are what are causing so much confusion. I will address the Air Force Combat Action first.

So, to start let’s check this out:

MCO P1020.34G W CH 1-5 MARINE CORPS UNIFORM REGULATIONS
    “3. Marines who served in or were attached to another branch of the U.S. military services and received a decoration, unit award, or service award of comparable criteria to one issued by the naval service may wear the award on Marine Corps uniforms, unless otherwise prohibited by these regulations.”

So, continuing on, let’s check out each order for both the Marine CAR and the AFCAM…

MARADMIN 038/13-REVISED ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA FOR AWARD OF THE COMBAT ACTION RIBBON (CAR) AND UPDATED COORDINATING INSTRUCTIONS
    “(2) THE PRINCIPAL ELIGIBILITY CRITERION IS THAT ON THE DATE/S OF ACTION THE INDIVIDUAL MUST HAVE RENDERED SATISFACTORY PERFORMANCE UNDER ENEMY FIRE WHILE ACTIVELY PARTICIPATING IN A GROUND OR SURFACE ENGAGEMENT. THE FOLLOWING AMPLIFYING GUIDANCE IS PROVIDED:
    (A) AS APPLIED TO IEDS, MINES, AND SCATTERABLE MUNITION, WITH OR WITHOUT THE IMMEDIATE PRESENCE OF ENEMY FORCES, THE FOLLOWING CONSTITUTE ACTIVE PARTICIPATION IN A GROUND OR SURFACE ENGAGEMENT:
    (I) DIRECT EXPOSURE TO THE DETONATION OF AN IED, MINE, OR SCATTERABLE MUNITION USED BY AN ENEMY.”