Honest answers. Suggestions. Any info really please!
Create Post
    Marine Friend Free Member
    Credits
    Savings

Honest answers. Suggestions. Any info really please!

I'm very interested in joining. I have a degree and would plan to go to ocs rather than enlist. I'm concerned with the fitness. I'm working on overall fitness and run times. What's a safe run time to go in with without dying lol. Also, what is the schooling like? Is it kind of like you learn everything there or should I prepare myself in some way for that? What are your general tips or experiences? What would you have likes to know ahead of time? I'm trying get some well rounded info before visiting a recruiter as I've heard they BS you. Any advice is appreciated. Thank you!

Similar Threads:

1) You'll be going to see an OFFICER SELECTION OFFICER, not a recruiter. Go to Officer.Marines.com, fill out the info and an Officer Selection Officer will contact you. Officers and enlisted go through completely different recruitment pipelines.

2) An OSO won't BS you. He really has no need for you specifically, and there are 30 other potential candidates he has lined up to take your spot. He'll give you the facts, and let you decide if it's for you. He won't "BS you" or make it seem awesome just to get you in.

3) OCS selection rates are notoriously low. You don't simply apply for OCS and go. You have to submit an application where they evaluate you on the whole person concept, then a board of Marine officers decides whether or not you get selected to attend OCS. Once at OCS, failure to meet standards will eventually result in you getting dropped from OCS and sent home with a final paycheck and no further commitment to the Marine Corps.