The Parental Opinion
Create Post

The Parental Opinion

Hello, I am Sebastian and I am a high school sophomore who plans on joining the Marine Corps. I have always wanted to join the Marines ever since I was in elementary school. My grandfather served in Vietnam in Force Recon and got out as a SSgt. He later joined the Army and left as a Captain. That is where my original idea of the military came from and after looking at both branches I decided that Marines was definitely the way I want to go. My only issue is my parents. Thankfully it is only one parent but I have a step-father that is also kind of against my decision. My mother is a anti-military person. She believes that the military is evil and corrupt and disturbs and tortures innocent people. My step-father tried enlisting but got arrested and his process got cancelled. He believes that I am too smart to go into the military (especially since he knows I want to go infantry). My dad is the one who seems a bit lighter on me as he doesn't mind me joining but he wants me to go in as an officer not enlisted like I plan to. Many people questions me on my decision to enlist and go infantry and all I can say is that I don't want to deal with the supposed politics and BS that officers have to deal with and I want to actually fight (my plan is to become a scout sniper). People always tell me that it isn't like the video games and I understand. I am willing to do it. Now I plan on enlisting at 18 so I know it doesn't matter whether they approve or not but it is nice to have a family support when I leave. What should I do to show my family that this is what I want and that they should at least accept it? Thanks in advance.

Similar Threads:

josephd
    Guest Free Member
    Ummm...you answered your own question, when you turn 18 go enlist...nothing they or anyone else can do about it