Anyone Forget Their Platoon Number?
Create Post
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Anyone Forget Their Platoon Number?

I ran across a post on a forum where someone claiming to be a former Marine stated he couldn't remember his MCRD platoon number. He gave a lame excuse about having a lot going on at time. He also stated he received his MOS training at El Toro. I was stationed at El Toro and I don't remember any schools there. I'm thinking poser. Has anyone else forgotten their platoon number? I know I haven't, and it's been over 42 years since I graduated.

Similar Threads:

Yes. Not me but my best friend when I was in the Corps. A few years ago I was up at his house and said something about his platoon number and he had to go dig out his platoon book because he couldn't remember what it was.

Had a fella I was stationed with at Cherry Point who was the same MOS as me and I hung out with most of the time. In fact, we went to Viet Nam together. When I started looking for Marines I went through boot camp with and had been stationed with, it took some doing but I finally found him. He didn't remember me. At all.

So don't count on some old Marine's memory to verify his service.

You can always check the name stamped on your skivies.

That number's burned into my memory like my social security number ...

Quote Originally Posted by Kegler300 View Post
    That number's burned into my memory like my social security number ...
    I hear ya. Same-same me and when I run into someone who doesn't have it or their Drill Instructors burned into their memory, I don't understand it but I've come to accept that it does occasionally happen.

54 years and still know mine!

57 years for me........Plt 260......July 58 MCRDSD

Platoon 202, 1ST RTBN, MCRD, SD 62 Years.

Sgt. Montgomery
    Cpl. Morrison
    Pfc. Pallot

Quote Originally Posted by ErikHeiker View Post