Cooking thread?
Create Post
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Cooking thread?

Cooking thread?

Anyone interested in a cooking thread?
    Today I'm mixing heavy and light. Sweet and savory. Served with a smile and under the hopes my kids love it.

I'm leading with acorn squash cut in half with a mix of butter, brown sugar, and syrup in the cavity. I miss that. My mom used to make it all the time when I was young. Now I know why: It's cheap and delicious. I'm planning to serve just before kickoff.

At halftime I'm going to serve seared scallops over a bed of lemon angel hair pasta. This is my first time cooking scallops (though I've eaten them many times). Let's hope I don't muck this up - from what I've read and watched a few seconds can be the difference between under-cooked, just right, and over-cooked.

Any dishes you want to share?

Also: Go Lions!

Similar Threads:

FoxtrotOscar
    Guest Free Member
    I had a date the other night at my place.

On the phone the day
    before, the girl asked me to "Cook her something she's never had
    before" for dinner.

After many minutes of scratching my head over what to make, I finally settled on something she has DEFINITELY never eaten before.

I got out my trusty case of MRE's (Meal, Ready-to-Eat) Field rations that when eaten in their entirety contain 3000+ calories in each meal.

Here's what I made: I took three of the Ham Slices out of their
    plastic packets, took out three of the Pork Chops, three packets of
    Chicken-a-la-king and eight packets of dehydrated butter noodles and some dehydrated/rehydrated rice.

I cooked the Ham Slices and Pork Chops in one pan, sauteed in shaved garlic and olive oil. In another pot, I blended the Chicken
    a-la-king, noodles, and rice together to make a sort of mush that
    looked suspiciously like succotash.

I added some spices, and blended everything together in a glass pan
    that I then cooked in the oven for about 35 minutes at 450 degrees.