Vision Test?
Create Post
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Vision Test?

Marine Friend Free Member
    Credits
    Savings

Vision Test?

So, this is my first time in this forum. I want to join the Marines but I would like to know if my eyesight could disqualify me? I lack vision in my right eye, its not permanently blind however its just quite poor. Only if I focus can I really use that eye.
    Are there non-combat positions I could work in or am I just kinda screwed out of the whole deal?

Similar Threads:

Baker1971
    Guest Free Member
    I'd like to answer your question but I can hardly read it. I have vision problems.

Quote Originally Posted by AAMatty View Post
    So, this is my first time in this forum. I want to join the Marines but I would like to know if my eyesight could disqualify me? I lack vision in my right eye, its not permanently blind however its just quite poor. Only if I focus can I really use that eye.
    Are there non-combat positions I could work in or am I just kinda screwed out of the whole deal?
    your best bet, if you haven't already and by your question I assume you haven't, is to talk to a recruiter, He or She could tell you right off whether you are DQ'ed or not.

also how old are you? and do you or can you get corrective lenses for the problem.

Are there non-combat positions I could work in or am I just kinda screwed out of the whole deal
    there are non combat jobs, but in the Marines Corps everybody is a basic rifleman, in other words every person whether a cook or a Remington raider is a basic infantryman, and all go through the basic combat course upon graduation from boot camp.

I would have to say a lot depends on whether your eye sight can be corrected.

Baker1971
    Guest Free Member
    Now that I found my glasses, yes Pat is correct, talk to a recruiter. If your vision is correctable your good to go.

Credits
    Savings
    Quote Originally Posted by irpat54 View Post