I would like advice from Marines that joined in their mid-20s
Create Post

I would like advice from Marines that joined in their mid-20s

I am 24 years old, almost 25, and in the DEP program. I have my Bachelor's degree in finance and a well-paying job in accounting. It has always been my dream to try to become a Marine and I am finally going through with it. I do not care about the pay that enlisted personnel receive, happiness is more important than money. After speaking with many friends and a few recruiters with a broad spectrum of military experience, I decided that I would pursue becoming an enlisted infantryman in the Marines. I also have a pipe dream of trying out for Recon, a FAST company or Scout Sniper, depending on what I am actually good at it. I am aware that these things are down the road, and very hard to achieve. I scored a 99 on the ASVAB, passed the IST and PT every single day. If there are any Marines out there who joined in their mid-20's, especially in the infantry, please share your experiences with me. Were you treated much differently than the majority of the group who is younger than you? I appreciate any help, thank you.

Similar Threads:

USMC 2571
    Guest Free Member
    I didn't join when I was in my 20s, BUT after being here on this site for years, I've seen the subject come up time and time again as to just what constitutes "older" recruit, and from all I've seen and read, age 24 is very young compared to the folks who went in in their late 20s.

I don't think you would be treated any differently in boot camp at age 24. It is not a drastic age difference like you may be thinking.

If you do word searches here in Ask A Marine, you'll see countless threads like this, and taking a look at them may help you feel more at ease.

USMC 2571
    Guest Free Member
    (Plus, there will hopefully be some other people chiming in here who did in fact go in at that approximate age. Just give it some time, they'll eventually wander in here.)