Weighing my options while in college
Create Post

Weighing my options while in college

I'm a freshman in college and confused as Hell. A few months ago I went to the Marine Officer office near my college, got interviewed, and did a PFT. Did pretty bad on the PFT, started religiously working out since, but haven't shown enough improvement. I'm gonna keep on working out, but I'm torn on what direction to take with the Corps when I get a good enough score to contract.

In terms of becoming an officer I want to either become a Naval Flight Officer or a Marine Security Guard. But I'm also starting to consider doing an enlistment after college to either go infantry, MSG, or something flight related like crew chief or door gunner. But then I just talked to one of my buddies who enlisted in infantry for the Corps right out of high school (2 years before me) and who just got back from Afghanistan. He said he's considering going to the Army when he gets out of the Corp and starts trying to continue his education.

I don't want to join the Marines to get some sort of skills to use whenever I get out of the Corps but want to join because I believe it's important to serve in the military to get an appreciation for what it takes to defend our rights and the country in general. Right now I'm not planning on making a career in the military, but it's not entirely off the table.