questions about my first duty station/Okinawa
Create Post
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

questions about my first duty station/Okinawa

I'm supposed to report into my unit next week and i have a couple questions about that. I'm an admin attached to the 1st MAW, i was told that i might go to camp foster or futenma, anyone knows which one? Also do i have to be a certain rank to drive a car/motorcycle? Last question, what's Okinawa really like for a Marine?

Credits
    Savings
    COMPLETE PROFILE

When we have an idea who we are talking to you will get answers

Quote Originally Posted by appz View Post
    I'm supposed to report into my unit next week and i have a couple questions about that. I'm an admin attached to the 1st MAW, i was told that i might go to camp foster or futenma, anyone knows which one? Also do i have to be a certain rank to drive a car/motorcycle? Last question, what's Okinawa really like for a Marine?
    My answers may be dated, was there '83-84. But Futenma is the air station that is located up on the hill above Foster. Here is a possible scenario: You live on Foster but work on Futenma. Knew a few admins in that situation.

As far as rank to drive, you will need someone to answer who has been there recently. From a post I read in the past, if memory serves, you cannot have a POV as an E-1 or E-2, but do some research on it.

And the last question is so broad, it is difficult to answer. Search this site. There were some good answers on the subject. It depends on what you like to do. As an 01, the duty should be 0730 to 1630. You will have a lot of free time. There are a lot of activities, good beaches, plenty of sight seeing, sports, gyms, interesting food, etc., scuba diving, whatever. Google what to do on okinawa.