Prior Service at Boot Camp
Create Post

Prior Service at Boot Camp

Hello Marines!

A little introduction, and also a hope that I have completed everything the rules say I must before posting. I am a 25 year old student who has recently ETSd from the Army after eight years of service, earned the grade of Staff Sergeant, two deployments to Korea, and a deployment to Afghanistan. All of these deployments were as a 35M (HUMINT Collector in case you have questions about it).

I got out of the Army because there was really no way for me to go back active duty after being on reserve status in my MOS and grade. I am 100% set on becoming a Marine, and joining the most bad A brotherhood in the world. I have served with many Marines in my time and I have looked up to each and every one of them with pride and admiration. I want to be the best, so why not become the best? The only way there is to become a Marine, right? I'm pretty much waiting on my discharge orders from the Army so I can take it to my Marine recruiter, select an MOS, and get a ship date.

Here is the crux of my question and part of my reason for coming to you Marines today. How many of you Marines were in boot camp and/or your MOS training with someone who was prior service? What were your thoughts on how they performed the tasks given to you, how they were as people, their experiences and how they helped or hindered you?

I honestly expect to be held to a higher standard when in boot camp because of my service, and believe me, I will thrive on it. However, that time will come when it comes. I have no doubt I will be able to join and no doubt I will do well.

Well, I suppose that is really all I came here for. Feel free to ask me questions, tell me if I made any mistakes, or any other feedback you wish to provide.

Much love, Brothers and Sisters.

Steve

Quote Originally Posted by FallenAngel View Post
    How many of you Marines were in boot camp and/or your MOS training with someone who was prior service?