Serious Question: Did any Marine ever run worse than I do?
Create Post
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Serious Question: Did any Marine ever run worse than I do?

This is a serious question. This is actually making me wonder if I'm physically capable of becoming a Marine. I used to be worried about the mental part, but now I'm worried about the physical.

I haven't taken the IST, but these are just my home scores:

2 pullups
    30 situps

...and here's what I'm worried about. I am not overweight. I've never been overweight, but I just simply cannot run. I have been running for a few months now, and am still horrible at it. I run about 30 seconds, literally, and I'm feeling nauseous and my chest has the weird burning/tightness sensation in it that I didn't used to get when I was younger. I then have to stop.

I know that with time my other scores will improve, but I am worried about the running part. I haven't asked my recruiter if I can work out with them at their PT meetings since I'm not a poolee yet (he hasn't offered either).

I know I am going to have to get a heck of a lot better at running if I want to be accepted, but I was just wondering if there is anyone out there who is a Marine / poolee that ran as bad as me before they went in.

Thanks for any help.

Quote Originally Posted by Adema1226 View Post
    This is a serious question. This is actually making me wonder if I'm physically capable of becoming a Marine. I used to be worried about the mental part, but now I'm worried about the physical.

I haven't taken the IST, but these are just my home scores:

2 pullups
    30 situps

...and here's what I'm worried about. I am not overweight. I've never been overweight, but I just simply cannot run. I have been running for a few months now, and am still horrible at it. I run about 30 seconds, literally, and I'm feeling nauseous and my chest has the weird burning/tightness sensation in it that I didn't used to get when I was younger. I then have to stop.