Question from a 16 year old foreigner.
Create Post
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question from a 16 year old foreigner.

Hello good sirs,
    My name is Doğukan, I'm a Turkish lad of sixteen years of age. I hail you from the coastal city of İzmir. I respect you guys a lot. I self-taught myself how to read and write when I was 4, and ever since then I had a thing with video games. Playing video games is also the main reason why I was able to learn English on my own. The basis of learning a language is interest, and I spent a great portion of my childhood playing videogames. Playing videogames and and writing letters have a lot in common - they both make you practice your linguistic abilities and they create new worlds in your mind. I started doing both when I was a kid. So now I've got a lot of mates abroad, a drawerful of letters and many gifted games, all thanks to an interest sparked by videogames. Earning money over this interest, too, started when I was just a little boy. At school, I would do other people's English homeworks in exchange for money (and spend it all on games afterwards). When I got older and the bar started to raise, I started doing better jobs like working as a guide in the summer, showing tourists around, helping *actual* translators with the jobs they found too nugatory for pocket money, and for the last two summers I've been working as a translator on a cafe here in my city.