"Concave Chest" at MEPS
Create Post
    Marine Friend Free Member
    Credits
    Savings

"Concave Chest" at MEPS

Hello, I am a high school graduate who has been in contact with my recruiter for some time. For the past two days i've been at MEPS taking my ASVAB and the various medical exams.

ASVAB Score: 88
    Medical Exams/Drug & Blood tests: All passed.

Then, at the last portion when the doctor goes over everything, he asked me to lift up my shirt. He called two other doctors in to examine my chest. Low and behold, the lower sternum area was sunken a devastating 3.5 cm. The doctors debated this shortly, seeing if the others saw it.

Long story short, I got disqualified because the doctors flat-out told me that I could never run more than 1.5 miles (I used to do this almost daily after school for extra NJROTC credit), considering how fit I am and I've never had breathing problems with running, is this BS? I told them this and they said they'd give me a waiver. Still i'm a little frustrated.

TL;DR: Has anyone else been "Diagnosed" with a Concave Chest?
    Are the doctors being super-strict because Afghanistan is starting to close?

Did you run with an extra 80 pounds of gear,was the temperature above 100 degrees? Do you think you could be geared up with high temperature and work for 8 or more hours in a desert enviroment?

Credits
    Savings
    Quote Originally Posted by DanM View Post
    Did you run with an extra 80 pounds of gear,was the temperature above 100 degrees? Do you think you could be geared up with high temperature and work for 8 or more hours in a desert enviroment?
    At my current level of fitness? No. But that wouldn't be a breathing problem. It would be a strength one. I was DQ'd on breathing grounds. Thanks for the reply though.

Military Medical Standards for Enlistment & Commission

Lungs, chest wall, pleura, and mediastinum

Jun 10 2009