I need advice from a Marine.
Create Post
    Marine Friend Free Member
    Credits
    Savings

Question I need advice from a Marine.

Hello Marines,
    I have been trolling these forums for quite a few years and I have finally registered to make my first post. I want to give a little background about myself and then ask for some honest advice on what path I should take from some of you Marines.

I am 25 years old, I have a wife and a 5 month old child. I have roughly 15 credits left to completion of a B.A. in political science. I have wanted to be a Marine since I was 17 years old when I was in 11th grade in high school and I saw the planes strike the twin towers. I went to the recruiter and got the paper work and started talking about enlistment. I scored an 88 on my ASVAB at the time. My parents talked me out of it by telling me they would pay for college if I went, for every class I got A's and B's in. Being a mediocre student in high school, they probably figured this would translate into them not having to pay much but it would keep me "safe". I would up getting deans list in college and they were realistically too poor to afford to pay me for my grades.

I started working different jobs to pay for my schooling and I have always worked full time while I have been a student which is why it has taken me so long to complete this bachelors degree. I have worked on political campaigns and most recently I have been working for a government contractor. I am almost done with my degree and I still have a strong desire to enlist in the Marine Corps.

I will have accumulated roughly 28,000 of student loan debt over the coarse of me attaining this bachelors degree in Political Science. Naturally, the ARMY will help me pay this debt off which makes my wife happy but she has accepted the fact that the only bonus I want from the military I can get from earning the title of Marine.