A Chinese Wishing to join the USMC
Create Post
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

A Chinese Wishing to join the USMC

Hello everybody, I'm a Chinese student graduating from high school next year. Just before you start wondering "why on earth does this damn commie want to join us", please take the patience to allow me explain this dream of mine.
    During the first 15 years of my life, I have grown a negative boy. I used to hate every single thing around me: I hated the Chinese government for lying to its people, hated its officials for corruption which is almost an essensial factor in their lives, hated people around me who surrendered to the autocracy of the government. I hated the world.
    But after graduating from Junior High, I went on a one-year exchange program that sent me to Ogden, Utah in the States, and that was later to entirely change who I am.
    It would take another post of 1000+ words to explain the process, but when I was in the US, I was soon to pick up joy and hope. People helped me unconditionally to every detail in my life; my host family gave me great love that kept my heart warm throughout the whole year; and the most of all, I was deeply attracted by the democracy and liberty of this nation.
    During the year, I met with several marines, who were known, by people around them, to be fiece warriors, but also quality citizens and gentle friends. Their stories as well as characters earned my respect.
    When I was to research for a career decision on a career choices system, I scanned the screen for careers recommended for me: architect, engineer, drafter... Non of them awakened any emotion, until I saw the words: Infantry service. Something deep inside my heart bursted.