USMC OCS Application Question
Create Post
    Marine Friend Free Member
    Credits
    Savings

USMC OCS Application Question

Hi,

I wanted to get some perspective from Marines aside from my recruiter. Here is some information about me that isn’t in my profile. I am a recent college graduate with a BS in Aerospace Engineering and currently work at Boeing.

I’ve been thinking about joining the military for much of my late teenage to adult life. I’ve recently spoken with a SSgt who handed me an USMC OCS application package and told me to get it to him ASAP. From what he’s told me, I would compile my application package by mid July at the latest. I told him if selected for OCS I would like to attend the January 2012 Winter session and not the October 2011 Fall one. He recommends that I get my package in now so if needed I can be reviewed by the board twice to increase my chances of selection. As I understand it, I would go to MEPS and have my initial PFT shortly after turning in my application package. Frankly, my PFT score is not very high now. I’ve been training for about a month and a half for the PFT. I’ve always been active, casually playing sports and swimming, but I would not consider myself an athlete. I can do about 14 pull ups and am close to 100 sit ups. My main problem is my running which I hear is a crucial component. I can run a 7 minute mile, down from 9 minutes when I first started. Obviously, my OSO wants me in the best shape possible and score in the 250+ range on the PFT, but I honestly do not see that happening within a month.

My long drawn question is should I keep training and not rush my application package for this upcoming board, then apply later in the year? I believe with more training under my belt especially running, I can score a much higher initial PFT which would look better for the board.

Thanks