Nong Son...overrun...7/4/67...
Create Post
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Nong Son...overrun...7/4/67...

Before I ramble further about my time at this remote outpost I'll await some responses.
    Haven't had much luck in the past finding some who know of this glorious outpost.
    I have some pics, experiences and comments of my own.
    Yes...I know the story well and about Melvin Newlin getting the MOH.

Hopefully, there is some F/2/5 and (I believe) W/3/11 members here who can discuss our era at Nong Son and this event that has always weighed quite heavily on me.

Thanks....

Credits
    Savings
    Images

!

Chasing 2nd NVA Division 3/5 - 2/5 the outpost wasn't completly overrun

http://www.marines.mil/news/publicat...00309000_3.pdf

I've had email dialogue with a couple that were there and did not think 'overrun' was an overstatement.

Thanks and have a good day..

oh....the outpost I'm referring to is Nong Song Mtn (Hill 300) above the coal mine which I did not specify clearly in my original post.
    A few miles south on An Hoa on the Song Thu Bon.

Quote Originally Posted by Riven37 View Post
    Chasing 2nd NVA Division 3/5 - 2/5 the outpost wasn't completly overrun

http://www.marines.mil/news/publicat...00309000_3.pdf
    Yes...although I'd recalled reading Newlins' radio comments this document stated that the VC 'did not overrun the entire outpost as they had hoped'.
    Being Part IV - page 4.

Lots of good and various info in this document.

w/3/11

Then Sgt Kerry Miller, Operations Chief w/3/11. May 67 to Oct 67. I was the odd guy with either a .45 and 17 mags or as soon as I could lose it an automatic M14 with bipod. Pskeivich and Rose were two of my people wounded in the assault. Glad to find a place where someone remembers.

oldbaldguy47@live.com

Last edited by Oldbaldguy47; 07-24-11 at 10:35 AM. Reason: add info

Quote Originally Posted by Oldbaldguy47 View Post