Will I actually do my job?
Create Post
    Marine Friend Free Member
    Credits
    Savings

Will I actually do my job?

Is there a chance I won't actually do the job I get? For example, if I am a mechanic, is it likely the marines will put me in an infantry unit?

The majority of the time.... you will be working within your MOS. That being said, if the Marines (notice the capital letter) need you somewhere else, that is where you will go.

As a Marine, you will follow all legal orders. Just do your best...no matter what you are told to do and you will be fine.

Too many people paint all forms of strange scenarios and drive themselves crazy with it. Don't worry about what may or may not happen. Just do what you are ordered to do.

Negative. You will do the job you're trained/qualified for.

If you're trained to be a mechanic, you would not be assigned as a grunt in an infantry platoon. Likewise, a grunt would never be assigned to a motor transport unit as a mechanic (chances are, they would not know how to fix anything so what's the point).

The USMC will spend a lot of money sending you to your MOS school. Would not make sense to then have you do something entirely different.

It changes after you've been in for awhile and are eligible for a "B" billet outside your primary MOS like Recruiting, Drill Instructor, or Embassy duty (Marine Security Guard). Although you may be a trained mechanic with years of experience, now you may also be trained to do one (or more) of the above jobs.

Phantom Blooper
    Guest Free Member
    chances are, they would not know how to fix anything so what's the point).
    Duh....which way did he go? Duh.....which way did he go?

If you dont succeed in your MOS school you can be reasssigned to some other MOS.
    If you dont succeed in your position same thing can happen.
    I passed my MOS school but did not do well in the position of Air Traffic Controller. I was changed to embarkation for the duration of my enlistment.