PDA

View Full Version : The General Orders

Poolee Macon
09-26-03, 07:23 AM
Hello I'm new to the Dep and to this board and I was wondering if there were any way to learn the general orders quickly besides of course the obvious which is study them. How did you learn them in recruit training. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Sparrowhawk
09-26-03, 09:17 AM
Originally posted by Poolee Macon
Hello I'm new to the Dep and to this board and I was wondering if there were any way to learn the general orders quickly besides of course the obvious which is study them. How did you learn them in recruit training. Any help is greatly appreciated.

It's individuals that seek the easy way out of an assignment that get Marines killed in war.

You need to not only learn them the hard way, but also embrace them as a badge of honor knowing not only the words but also what they mean.

They must be part of your life, from sunrise to sunset, you must recite them before you hit the sack, in your dreams, when you awake and they must be the song in your heart.

To know them in this manner you might one day be able to stand in the shadow of those that learned them, recited them over the years that earned the title.

You have the wrong attitude to be a Marine, this isn't the Army, Navy or Air Force, they have the laptops, thick mattresses, and easy forms of transportation.

Marines have their weapon, the ground and their boots. That's what its all about, no easy road to glory.

Cook

Sparrowhawk
09-27-03, 01:53 PM
Here maybe this will help, you understand...

http://cookbarela.bizland.com/Heart.gif

Lake0300
09-27-03, 02:14 PM
LoL. Welcome to the Leatherneck forums! You've just had your first chewing :) - I totally agree with Sparrow Hawk - dont get upset like most Poolees do. Think about what hes saying, something you'll learn is that Marines are a different breed of people. They're all alpha animals.