PDA

View Full Version : Information on a LAT move..?

JTMarineCorps
09-11-10, 07:52 PM
Oorah Devils,
I have a question about a LAT move. I'm currently 3 weeks away from graduating quartermaster school at Ft. Lee.. yes, I'm a Marine cook. I had an 0311 contract up until December when the Corps started to downsize and I lost my MOS. I was forced to wait another three months (I had already waited 4) and go to Parris Island with an open contract. Well, this is what I got. I cant stand it. At all. I joined the Marines to fight and I'm baking cakes. It's seriously horrible. I'm getting station at Camp Lejune attatched to CLR 27. I was wondering if there is any way I can switch my MOS this early? Or if there are any duties other than MSG I can do? I heard theres actually a duty where you go and find UA Marines, is that true? I'm willing to do anything but cook. Someone please try and help me out. Semper Fi

Backhaus 1103
09-11-10, 08:43 PM
You be f*cked...at least for 2 years, more like your enlistment. Should've waited and got what you want.
Hopfully you don't work at a chow hall and just do what the other cooks do...skate like a motha f*cka I haven't seen them do anything...ever.

Beltayn
09-11-10, 11:06 PM
I heard theres actually a duty where you go and find UA Marines, is that true?Chaser duty is something you don't generally volunteer for, but which they just kind of pick people to do. And boots are not normally going to be picked, but rather senior lances or NCOs.
You are correct that it is a real job though.

You have a couple of options, realistically. If you are desperate to not be a cook, I'd go as far as to say pursue all of them at once.
1)Volunteer to deploy on an IA (Individual Augmentee) billet. You'll deploy and end up standing post for 7 months. Boring, yes, but you get a few ribbons and some bank out of it, and you won't be cooking.