PDA

View Full Version : Recon Wannabes... what to expect...

DevilDogsSon269
09-11-10, 04:05 PM
So I have a friend on FB who is close friends with one of the Marines who was on Surviving the Cut(he is now a Recon Marine). His mother got me in touch with him and we have been talking. This is a view from the eyes of some one who graduated BRC a couple months ago. Here is his views and what to expect:

*note- I have edited this in an effort to keep his identity on the DL as this is posted on the web where everyone can see and I am sure he doesnt want to receive a ****ton of pointless mail from people not even affiliated with the Marines.

"Hey man, how are you? idk if you know me or know who i am but my name is ***** ***** and i graduated from brc about 2 months ago. i just want to tell you good luck. it will be like nothing you've ever attempted. if you make it through brc you will think boot camp was a joke lol. the biggest piece of advice i can give you is do not give up. it is going to suck sooooo bad and so many people will quit. don't do it. almost all of your buddies are going to want to quit and they are going to try to bring you down with them. OK so i will give you a little bit of a time line for you first stages of the marine corps. boot camp for 3 months then out to California for itb(soi) for another 3 months then MART( marines awaiting recon training) and that can last anywhere from a week to a couple months. this is where most of the junior marines are going to quit, about 75% or more will quit. mart is hell on earth, you will get treated like absolute crap, stand around and look at a wall for hours, work out till you can't move and then go thrash in a pool for a couple hours. the instructors during this phase of training have 2 goals: 1) make you quit. 2) get you ready for brc. the pool during this phase of training is going to be the hardest thing you have ever done. once again do not quit. they( the instructors) will help you in the pool as long as y