PDA

View Full Version : New Poolee, over his head.

BurkeWorld
09-04-10, 12:56 AM
I'm 27 years old and I don't know what I just got myself into. I mean, really.. I'm a TV salesman at Best Buy, yet I had the sudden urge to sign up. I found myself talking to a recruiter, just asking questions, but from there, it got more and more deep. I was intrigued and interested.

Next thing I knew; I was hooked. Downside is, I'm kinda a big guy and my recruiter said he'd work with me through DEP, which is awesome. After just 5 days of training, I tried the IST. My signature states my results. Pretty poor, I admit, but I weigh 230 pounds and am 71" tall. I need to be under 228 by this Thursday, so I have been doing nothing but run, train and eat healthier. I'm making progress, considering I started at 236, so I'll take 6 pounds in 5 days.

Now, here's where my nerves get come into play. I've been doing a lot of reading and watching video's and documentaries on RT and it's very intimidating. However, the prospect of getting into shape is amazing and one huge moto for me, as it's what I need the most. Being 27 years old, I will be one of the old guys there I assume, but still, I won't let that hinder me. I have a college degree but I'm wasting away at Best Buy, it's time to do something with my life.

This forum has been a great source of information, I want to thank all of you for your input and tips. Good luck to all here. I ship out on November 15th.

~Burkey

Rough Hands
09-04-10, 03:52 AM
I feel you, man. I had to drop 60 pounds in order to enlist, and the first time I went to PT, I didn't pass the IST because of the crunches. On my second IST, I still didn't pass the crunches. Two months later, I passed. You can see all of my stats in my signature.