PDA

View Full Version : Friends in Fatigues?

Aitsu83
08-06-10, 10:00 AM
I suspect that this might stir up a beehive. So this should be fun. I'll try to keep this short and sweet. I signed an open contract, but the Corps has "too many Marines" and I'm "too much paperwork". Health issues kept me from signing up when I graduated High School, and now that they're cleared up, I can't get in.

I'm making a point to live my life so that the Marines I do know would say "He'd have made a hell of a Marine." One of the ways I'm trying to do that is to show proper respect for the Corps.

Now that you have a background on me, here is the situation, I found a military surplus store that sells Marpat cammies. As much as I'd love to have a pair for camping and hunting, I realized that this could be disrespectful to those who have earned the right. I would never wear a uniform, but the cammies seems like more of a grey area. So let me know what you think. Thanks again for all that you do. My prayers are with you always.

Lisa 23
08-06-10, 11:35 AM
You're posting in the wrong forum. This part of the forum is for Marines only....and you've got no profile.

Aitsu83
08-06-10, 11:38 AM
Ok, tell me where it should go and I'll put it there. I'm also looking for a way to delete it.

usmchauer
08-06-10, 11:49 AM
I don't know of anything that legally could keep you from wearing cammies. It's your choice as a civilian... Just don't go around telling people you're a jarhead and you shouldn't have any issues.

Aitsu83
08-06-10, 11:54 AM
Has nothing to do with legality. It's out of respect. If you, as a Marine, think it is no big deal, then that is all I'm looking for. I'm no Jarhead, I will never say I am one, and I have huge respect for those who are. I also have no intention of wearing cammies outside of a camping/hunting environment.

Quinbo
08-06-10, 11:59 AM