PDA

View Full Version : weapon moding

REMUSMC
08-01-10, 03:38 AM
Before I was in the Marines I loved working on weapons everything from pistols to ARs. When I got to MCI I was told that you can only do some modifications to an M16. So I was wondering if I could get some info on what can be moded and what can not. It would be nice if the intell could come from a 2111.

Quinbo
08-01-10, 03:42 AM
What????

REMUSMC
08-01-10, 03:50 AM
Weapon mods like changing the pistol grip or the RIS system or using flip up sights and removing the forward sight post or changing the bold carrier group or a different type of magazine.

Quinbo
08-01-10, 04:48 AM
Couldn't you just walk over to the armory and ask?

Covey_Rider
08-01-10, 05:00 AM
Weapon modifications in general are not authorized, technically you're only allowed to use what the Marine Corps issues. Now, outside of that, it is up to command approval of what you are allowed to do and what you are not. You being a Motor T Operator, I'm not really sure what type of modifications you would even want to do...you will be seen as a gear queer for trying to create your own little tricked out weapon. I did however modify my weapon in country with my commands approval. I'll just give you my personal scenario...my battalion ran out of M4's so I was issued an M16A4. I had issues with the size of the weapon while searching for IED's, the thing had a nasty habit of swinging off my back and landing on pressure plates...So I had the upper receiver and butt stock swapped out and pretty much created an M4. Again, this was with the proper approval and the work had done be done by an armorer. It doesn't matter if you know how to do it, it still has to be done by an armorer. Now, as far as magazines are concerned...I personally carried PMAGs, however your command can tell you that you can't use them. Don't change out the bolt carrier group, there is no reason for it. You will probably get punched square in the face if you even think about taki