PDA

View Full Version : What Happened to NCO Leadership?

thedrifter
09-20-03, 04:55 AM
09-17-2003

Guest Column: What Happened to NCO Leadership?

By a Sergeant in Iraq

I have been serving in the Army for 11 years, including seven on active duty and the rest in the Army Reserve. Currently I am serving in Iraq. I am a 28-year-old staff sergeant who appreciates the NCO Corps and feels fortunate to be one. Everything I have I have earned, which has instilled pride in me, my work and my soldiers.

But I have witnessed during this deployment, many appalling acts in just my sixteen-man detachment. The pride that non-commissioned officers once had is rapidly deteriorating. I have never downplayed members of the Armed Forces for the fact that we are all volunteers and that tells me that somewhere inside each and every one of us is heart and intestinal fortitude. That alone makes me proud to be a member. I have recently decided that order needs to be restored.

My commander has been conducting himself in such a grotesque way, stating on many occasions that this is a paid vacation for him. He is just here to soak up the money. Granted, the money is not bad, however, I believe as a commander, some things are best left unsaid.

He recently returned from a trip to LSA Anaconda, in Balad. He entered the room where we enlisted soldiers live, and asked what the one thing is that would boost morale and what we would all love to eat but could not get here. We said “pizza!” with enthusiasm. Then he went to go into detail about how good the pizza was that he ate while at Anaconda. That’s a kick in the teeth. You could hear a pin drop in the room. No one thought that was very funny, if anything it was immature and inconsiderate.