PDA

View Full Version : Enlist vs. OCS

bandit080000
07-22-10, 08:51 PM
Hello everyone,

I've wanted to become a Marine ever since I saw the caliber of person that the Marine Corps has the potential to produce.

That being said, I'm currently in my 3rd year of college and would like to separate the differences between enlisting and working my way up the ranks vs. going to OCS and getting my "butter bars" as I've been told they're called, and working my way up from there. I guess my biggest concern is that as an officer, am I going to get to go outside the wire? I just don't want to end up in a situation where I'm pushing paper. Now, with that last statement, I certainly don't mean to offend any Marines, but I've been searching online for awhile, and about the best answer that I've come up with is that an officer is a "leader of Marines". However, that's an incredibly vague answer. I haven't been able to come up with much information about what the life of a Marine Corps. officer is like.

I guess my question boils down to this: Will I get to see action as an officer, or is my shot at seeing action going the enlisted route?

Thank you for any advice, and thank you for everything that you do Marines.

Wyoming
07-22-10, 08:59 PM
Punctuation - Check

Spelling - Check

Profile - Half Check

Common sense and knowledge - FAIL

Lisa 23
07-22-10, 09:02 PM
How about doing a search here on Leatherneck, as this topic has been covered many times before.

bandit080000
07-22-10, 09:14 PM
Punctuation - Check

Spelling - Check

Profile - Half Check

Common sense and knowledge - FAIL